Yesterday

On Thursday morning a friend told me she was eating a red velvet cupcake for breakfast. For the rest of the day all I could think about was red velvet cupcakes, in particular the ones from the Hummingbird Bakery in Soho. I don’t know what came over me but I decided as Soho was kind of far to go just to get cupcakes, I would find the recipe online and make them myself. The reason this is strange is because I never cook for one very good reason, which is the fact that I can’t cook beyond boiling some pasta.
So I found this recipe, spent about an hour at the supermarket trying to find all of the ingredients then another hour at home preparing them all.

Once the cupcakes came out of the oven they looked beautiful, big with the perfect dark red colour I was so proud. Which didn’t last past my boyfriend taking the first bite of a cupcake. I could tell he was quickly trying to decide whether to be truthful or not. Deciding to go with the truth (because they were that bad) he told me “they’re a little bit salty.” Before getting too upset I wanted to try one, he is picky. It tasted like taking a bite out of the sea. I couldn’t understand, I followed the recipe exactly, I went to look at it again to see where it could have all gone wrong and it turns out that my amateur cooking skills didn’t know that tsp stood for teaspoon and I put half a table spoon of salt, bicarbonate of soda and 1 and a half tablespoons of white wine vinegar into them. I was heart broken!

Not wanting to give up and my craving not full filled, last night I decided to try again with all the correct measurements and they were perfect 🙂

You can buy the Hummingbird Bakery book for £16.99 from most bookshops or pre-order their new book Cake Days, out on the 17th of March here.

Happy Baking

XY

This entry was posted in FashionWatching, Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yesterday

  1. She's Tailored says:

    That friend was me! Hehe and they were delicious 🙂 xxxx

Leave a Reply

